I arrived in FL this morning to work with my new rep. I started working in FL with this rep in the beginning of the year. I'll be working 3 days a week in FL for the next 8 weeks. I can't complain about the weather --- 80 degrees today!
I ran a mile after work. I needed a quick stress relief before dinner. My rep here is driving me nuts. He is talented but so full of himself. Like unbelievably cocky and obnoxious. He talks about how great he is any chance he gets. An example would be this....
He said, "I'm so out of shape. I haven't worked out in 4 months. It's so bad. I only have a 6 pack now."
It gets better. After he said this to me during lunch, we went back to work and he showed me a picture of him SHIRTLESS from his "fit days". Who the heck does that? Who the heck wants to see this?
BARF. Basically these type of comments fly out of his mouth throughout the day. He also bopps around like he is some high roller. Loves to talk about money and how much he pays for things. He said he will drop money left and right because he has a lot of it. For example, he loves watches. So he just dropped $500 on a Guess watch - hence he is a high roller. He seriously has no clue what else is out there in this world.
He is from Detroit and he is living it up in Ft. Lauderdale so he is super cool (in his opinion). The way he talks to me is so condescending. We parked our car at a meter and before I was about to pay he goes, "Everything around here is so expensive. You're probably not used to this but they charge for parking everywhere." The meter was 50 cents for an hour. I have never seen such a cheap meter before. I had to take my jab and say, "Yeah, I'm not used to this. I'm used to paying $30/hour to park in the city."
Anyways, the good thing is that we closed a sale today. YIPPEE! This is the only way I can deal with him. I do believe he can be successful here but his personality drives me nuts.
Things that I'm grateful for....
1. As much as I complain about my rep to Steve and my friends, I'm glad I have a job. I have to remind myself this all the time. I appreciate it even more each time I think about planning our next vacation. Our jobs are the means to these vacations so thank god for being employed.
2. I'm watching the Bachelor on-line. These people are ridiculous and so entertaining. I love their faces during the Final Rose ceremonies. They look awful! However, I must give them credit for showing their true colors. I would have way too much pride to break down in front of the Bachelor and on national tv. I would be devastated inside but I would put together a brave front. I've done this in the past w/former relationships or in situations when I've been disappointed. I rarely show my true colors unless it is really upsetting. Why am I so fake? Maybe I can learn a few things from the Bachelor contestants.
3. No desserts today. I resisted.
50 cents an hour!!! LOL What a donkey!!!
ReplyDelete